#arizona #car #insurance, #car #insurance #quotes, #state #car #insurance #rates
Arizona Car Insurance
Arizona Car Insurance Laws
- Arizona’s required liability insurance limits are comparatively low. Bodily injury liability of only $15,000 per person and $30,000 for all persons harmed in one accident, plus $10,000 in property damage liability, means that your limits could be quickly exhausted without even being in a major accident.
- Failure to carry auto insurance: Insurance companies must notify the state’s Motor Vehicle Division when an individual starts a new auto insurance policy, cancels or non-renews. If the state finds you aren’t carrying at least the minimum Arizona auto insurance limits on your vehicle, your vehicle registration and driver’s license may be suspended. To reinstate these items you’ll owe fees. You will also be required to file (for three years from the date of suspension) future proof of financial responsibility via a SR-22 form .
- De-insurance: If you are taking a vehicle off of the road for a bit, apply for a De-Insured Certificate. De-insurance allows you to temporarily take the state-required insurance off a vehicle until it is ready to be driven again.
- Electronic proof of insurance: Arizona allows drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone. It is one of 31 states that does so.
Why comprehensive coverage is valuable in Arizona
Carrying comprehensive coverage on your automobile will be important if you are worried about damage resulting from Arizona’s dust devils. monsoon rains or wildfires.
Comprehensive car insurance also covers you if your car is stolen. With Arizona’s close proximity to Mexico (there are seven ports of entry along the 354-mile Arizona/Mexico border) and dry, moderate climate (that allows cars to remain rust-free and maintain higher values) the Arizona Insurance Council notes that vehicle theft can be a problem in this state.